Celebrate good times come on!

27 Feb

One thing you should know about me is that I love birthdays.

A few of my favorite things in order of importance..

1. Riding my bike on a beautiful day 

2. Birthdays 

3. Eating incredible food 

4. The smell of new books 

5. Bread baking

So you will understand my excitement when my mom asked me to make something cute for her birthday. I was more than thrilled. She gave me the general idea of what she wanted and then as all good moms do let me start on it. It took me a week to kinda wrap my mind around what I wanted to make but then it came to me.

Cake Pops

This book may be the best book that I have ever bought. I refer to for every special event that I want to bake something for. Everyone thinks I am so creative and talented and then I feel so ….awesome. Most of the things in this book are easy to make (for the most part) and they look really cute.
Cake Pops

I decided to try to spend as little as possible while making these cake pops so I made the cake and the frosting from scratch. The recipe for both are in the book. I went to the store and bought the melting chocolates and the ice cream cones. I only needed a few M&M’s but I couldn’t just buy a small bag. “Go big or go home!”

The lady who was ringing up my supplies smiled and said “either you are making something yummy, or you are having a bad day and need a pick me up.” That was funny. I reassured her that it was for a birthday.
cupcake cake pop

I thought this was going to be an hour project but it turned out to be 3-4 hours. It was well worth it. My mom thought they were the coolest which was enough of a reward for me.

 

3 Responses to “Celebrate good times come on!”

  1. chalker February 28, 2012 at 3:27 pm #

    I love it and am sure you couldn’t have made your mom any more happy! Homemade thoughtful gifts are the bestest!!

    • asnailslife February 29, 2012 at 7:22 am #

      Your right on two counts. First, she loved my ice creams. Second, handmade is ALWAYS better

  2. Marayha April 5, 2012 at 11:11 am #

    Very creative and precious

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

