My Victory Garden

20 Aug

I have been vacant for the past few days and the reason for that is that I have been planting my very own victory garden.

 

So after reading a little bit about World War II I was intrigued by the idea of the victory gardens that the governments encouraged the citizens of the US to invest in. I like the idea of the country as a whole eating better and growing their own produce and canning their own foods. Awesome.

I was encouraged and challenged so I decided I would try my hand at this new venture. I cheated a little bit and went to our farmers market and purchased a couple of plants from some of our local growers. I then went and purchased several seeds as well. Just so I can say that I started some of the plants on my own.

I decided to clean out this out weed infested patch of land and start our very own little garden. So far we have several different types of chilis, all the herbs I use in the kitchen and a couple medicinal plants as well.

So much fun….I am thinking my garden needs a little bunting that says “Victory Garden”.

Any ideas on fertilizer or compost????

 

One Response to “My Victory Garden”

  1. Terry August 20, 2010 at 7:15 pm #

    It is pretty easy to start your own compost pile. If you have any empty corner or spot some where in the yard just start saving your vegtable peels, coffee grounds, egg shells,etc. no meat products and pile them up and turn it every once and awhile. Check some of the local cities websites, a lot of them offer free composting classes.
    the Chino Water Basin Garden is always offering lots of free classes.

Leave a Reply

