Craft Room Makeover

29 Nov

My craft room is void of any pictures at all. This is really a sad perdictiment as I rely on beautiful pictures to inspire me to create and to write. So sad to think of nothing but an empty room.

When I decided to create a craft room I decided that I wanted it to be all vintage and second-hand items. I didn’t want anything new. I want everything to be mismatched.

Look at some of the treasures that I found this weekend bargain shopping. They didn’t cost much and many of them had to be repurposed but I love them so much I had to share with you.

This is my dry erase “blog board”. I love it. Since it is in a picture frame it gives off the impression of being framed art yet it is easily changed. So it is permanent impermanent art. LOVE IT!

This little Chickadee was hiding in the back of the store in the most farthest location of the store shelf. It was love at first sight. For those who know me well know that I love bright colors and this just grabbed my attention and jealously kept it in its grasp. I willingly submit to its beauty.

I loved how this picture pulled together the room with the birds and the butterflies. The colors are very natural and bright at the same time. I was drawn to this picture for its elegance in its beauty.

I find myself inspired often by nature and the beauty that is presented to us daily yet I miss it due to the “tyranny of the urgent’. Urgent being work, chores, responsibilities. I like that although I sometimes scurry right past beauty that it doesn’t stop being beautiful just because I didn’t notice. Rather it is beautiful for the sake of being beautiful with no purpose due unless to oneself.

4 Responses to “Craft Room Makeover”

  1. Katelyn Chalker November 29, 2010 at 7:42 pm #

    you are so crafty! I just love it! I absolutely love butterflies i bet your room is so cute!

    • asnailslife November 30, 2010 at 6:52 pm #

      I didn’t know you liked butterflies!

  2. Lorena Paz November 29, 2010 at 7:52 pm #

    Ohhhh, you found some cute prints!!!

  3. Tara November 30, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    I love the bright bird graphic–so pretty and colorful! I work at home full-time now and I *really* need to decorate more. Maybe this will inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

