Starting on the Goals

3 Jan

Hi Friends,

As you remember from my post here. I am attempting to read 100 books by the time I turn 28. When I wrote this goal down I thought to myself no sweat! But as I started to calculate how many books that would be in a month I started to get worried. So I decided I better kick myself in gear early so that I can relax near the end of the year (ha!).

All the same I finished my first book on my road to reading 100.

Disclaimer: I typically don’t read biographies for the very reason that they don’t interest me in this stage in my life. But for Julia, I had to make an exception, after all she is Julia Child.

I read this book with the view that I am going to read it in the same way one would read a textbook. In other words, to learn from it. I was delieghted by how much I learned from her on risk, curiousities, and reinventing oneself regardless of age.

Here a couple of  my personal highlights from: My Life in France by Julia Child with Alex Purd’homme:

“You never forget a beautiful thing that you have made,”…”Even after you eat it, it stays with you–always.” pg 65

“I was thrity-seven years old and still discovering who I was.” pg 72

“Learn how to cook–try new recipes, learn from your mistakes, be fearless, and above all have fun!” pg 328

 

 

Overall, I am glad that I read the book with the perspective that I had. The book was not only encouraging to know that I am not alone in being cautious of new things but she gave me the courage to try them anyway regardless if I fail.

Since 100 books in a year is quite a few (to say the least) I have decided that I will review one book a month and the rest will be posted and reviewed on my good reads account. If you take a look over to the right in the side bar you will see that there is a button for “good reads” if you click on that button it will take you to my completed books that count for the 100 books read goal.

Wish me luck. I am going to need it.

2 Responses to “Starting on the Goals”

  1. thefooddoctor March 29, 2011 at 11:38 pm #

    Hello 🙂
    I found your blog through the daring bakers and I really loved it..
    the pictures and the gardening but I loved your resolution to read 100 books the most 🙂
    will keep checking back to see how you are doing
    keep up the good work

    • asnailslife March 30, 2011 at 7:44 am #

      I am so glad that you stopped in and said hello! The goal to read 100 books is the “big one” this year.

Leave a Reply

