My Heroine’s Book Shelf

2 Mar

While reading the The Heroines Bookshelf by Erin Blakemore I began wondering who would my heroine’s book shelf include? What literary characters helped to mold me into the woman I am today. Which characters are the ones I seek when I need a friend to listen and not advise?

So I rounded up all the girls and I present them to you now.

This is my “go-to” book. When I need encourage either from the nice girls or the bad girls I turn here. This book encompasses the daring, bold, fearful and courageous babes. I  connect with these women most because of their vulnerability and steadfastness through their failures and doubts. They were some tough babes and that’s why they make the top of my list and get their own picture.

A Voice in the Wind by Francine Rivers

Hadassha who is the main character of this book kicks butt she is like the older cousin to Katniss in the Hunger Games (which is also good) in the arena and outside the arena. This is the book I turn to when I am feeling like I am not good enough or I am nervous of an upcoming event.

In the Time of the Butterflies by Julia Alvarez

I open this book when I need encouragement to fit for a cause. I also open this book up when I think about family ties and the power of sisterhood.

Ramona Quimby Age 8 by Beverly Clearly

I met Ramona in a dusty library on a rainy day in fourth grade. She has been my dearest friend ever since. I read this book once a year. I find myself pulling this book from the bookshelf after a bad day when I just need a laugh. Ramona is a faithful friend always there to make me bust up laughing.

Anne of Green Gables-L.M Montgomery

I bumped into Anne at the top of a tree (yes, I used to climb trees to read books).  It is because of Anne that I search out bosom friends and can’t help but let my imagination gallop through the fields of my mind.  I seek out Anne’s company all the time.

Jane Eyre-Charlotte Bronte

Jane is like that stranger you meet on the street and see so often that you finally make time to sit down and get to know each other. I am so glad I did. I love the way she speaks her mind yet hold true to her values regardless of the events happening around her.

 

2 Responses to “My Heroine’s Book Shelf”

  1. jessi March 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm #

    I loved the Ramona books as a kid! and the movies
    I tried to get my daughter to read them and she didn’t like them 😦

    • asnailslife March 3, 2011 at 7:27 am #

      Sad Face for sure. Maybe she will grow into them 🙂 or maybe we she will like something else and show us some new authors!

Leave a Reply

