How to start growing your own food

22 Mar

A Gift From Me by A Snail's Life

Hi Friends,
First, thank you all for being so supportive by the kind words and prayers. Last week was very hard. I stopped in a few times, just to peek,  your comments brought me sunshine. So I sincerely thank you.

This week I am going to be talking about gardening. This is my second year gardening. Want to see a peak at last year’s garden click here. My victory garden last year was such a growing experience for me. The thing I learned most from last year was that you just have to jump in and do it. Don’t be afraid that you are going to kill your plants. I will assure you, you probably will, as I know I did. The good news is that it feels good to grow your own food and once you have had a morsel from your own garden you feel angry about having to go to the store and buy the watered down produce.

So about a month ago, I went to Lowe’s and picked up a few things. I bought seed starting soil, in my opinion this is a must. I bought some seeds. You can also buy them from catalogs and farmer’s markets but I was so excited that I just couldn’t wait. I also bought some seed starter kits. Now this last thing, the seed starter kits, totally unnecessary but I wanted to splurge and give them a try. Last year I planted direct and the reason for that is that I started planting in August!!!! Really late.

Stay tuned this whole week is about gardening!!! So dig out your shovels and let’s get planting.

One Response to “How to start growing your own food”

  1. Candias Chalker March 22, 2011 at 3:05 pm #

    Spent last week getting my two garden boxes prepared….decided to do one wildflower garden this year and one salsa garden. Got the cilantro started so far and waiting for the other things to come in. But I think I may wait before to see what your challenge is going to be…should be fun!!

Leave a Reply

