Adventures in the backyard

4 Apr

Yesterday, I was outside in my succulent garden when I saw something peculiar in one of our trees. As I got closer, I saw something whizz by me (really close to my head). I thought it was a giant grasshopper siege. So I did what any normal person would do in an emergency: Stop, Drop and Cover.

Yes, I know they don’t bite but I have a fear of flying bugs.

After the initial danger was over I stood at a safe distance and waited. A few minutes later a hummingbird flew around the tree and circled it a few times and then topped on one of the branches. That’s when I saw the hummingbird nest.

I was so happy to be able to host a hummingbird nest in my tree. I was jumping and pumping my fists in the air. People probably thought I won the lottery!

Disclaimer: I didn’t do this near the nest, didn’t want to disturb mammabird.

I was thrilled to have a hummingbird nest in my tree! I ran over to Target and bought a hummingbird feeder (so the mama didn’t have to travel too far to get food).  I planted a couple plants so that she can get “organic nectar” if she is into that kind of thing. I really didn’t know if she was a “fast food girl” or a “all natural girl”.

So today, I woke up and heard my windows rattling and my house shaking. Being a native Cali babe I figured, “whatever probably an earthquake”. Until, I realized that it was coming in gusts…as in major winds! “Oh no! My hummingbird nest is going to blow right off the tree” I thought to myself.

I ran outside to see and what I saw brought on a slew of emotions.

(Picture isn’t as clear because I don’t have a zoom lens yet.)

Sitting on her nest was the mammabird! The winds are really strong out here. Strong enough to blow over trucks and cause other cars to be “pushed” around by it.  Yet, here is this little hummingbird sitting on her nest in hopes of protecting her little eggs. I was just blown away.

2 Responses to “Adventures in the backyard”

  1. Kristin April 4, 2011 at 9:07 am #

    I’ve been lucky enough to have a nest on my patio for the last 6 years or so. It’s so great to see mama return each year and then to see the little beaks and wings pop up. Then one day they are gone, which is probably the most wonderful part.

    • asnailslife April 4, 2011 at 12:57 pm #

      I think any living creature would love to be near you! They return if they like where they like where their’s nest were? Awesome.

Leave a Reply

