Reflections on a day without shoes

6 Apr

Reflections from a day without shoes

My day without shoes began with a trip to a bakery for breakfast. One can’t survive on ice cream for breakfast everyday. My long time friend, Kim joined me not only for breakfast but also on my “shoeless” adventure. She is such a supportive friend. As we walked over to the bakery we started talking about how  embarrassing it would be if we were asked to leave for not wearing shoes.

For the second time that morning I questioned whether it was a good idea to go without shoes.

The bakery staff was really kind to us and allowed us in. Thank goodness. My cashier asked about my shoeless day and I filled him in on the basics of life without shoes in other countries. He told me he never really thought that much about his shoes and I confessed neither have I until today.

During our breakfast Kim told me that she works as a Toms Freelance Style Your Sole Artist. No way! I didn’t even know that about her. That is so cool. Luckily I had brought some markers with me so that we could decorate each other’s feet after breakfast. You know me I have “travel crafts”.  With only about 20 min before I had to head into work (yes I had to slip on my shoes for work) she quickly illustrated my feet. I felt pretty fancy all day long!

The rest of the day went fairly smooth I went to a couple of stores in which several people asked about my feet bling and that started conversations about why I was footless which lead to great short conversations that I hope left people thinking. Later that night we went mountain bike riding which was super hard and we couldn’t go where we wanted to because the petals were hurting my feet. Side Note to Kim: Yes my bike does have spiky pedals. Disappointed about the length and slowness of my bike riding our group headed home. I felt bad but it really made me stop and think about the efficiency that shoes give me.

Let’s just say by the end of the day my feet where UGLY!!!!! They were sore and red and hurt so bad. I went to bed early with throbbing feet and lesson learned. I dreamed I was in a shoe commercial. Now that is funny.

The next step:

Don’t stop learning about the needs of other people

Thanks to everyone for your support yesterday. It was a lot of fun and I don’t think I will ever be able to just “throw on my shoes” without being utterly thankful for them!

2 Responses to “Reflections on a day without shoes”

  1. Lorena Paz April 6, 2011 at 7:18 pm #

    What an adventure! I’d never heard about “day without shoes.” I’m glad I learned something new!

  2. mandisa April 16, 2011 at 2:39 am #

    I’m happy you put a shout out to Shoes That Fit on here! It’s such an awesome program.

Leave a Reply

