Adventures: Feather Hair Extensions

20 Apr

Let me just start by saying, I am so out of my league on this post. In high school, my closet consisted of jeans and t-shirts. In college, I was content to wear yoga pants and tank tops, and no I have never been to a yoga session. Now, as a grown adult, I guess that’s what they call people by default when you stop going to school, I am perfectly happy wearing jeans and graphic tees. All this to say that being trendy or in with the latest fashion hasn’t been my top priority. Don’t get me wrong, I would love to have a my fingers on the pulse of fashion but to be honest, I just can’t get my attention to stay put on that subject for very long. That is until I saw a girl at the gym with the cutest feather in her hair.  Somewhere between crunches and pull-ups I walked over to her and told her how fabulous her hair looked with the feather extension.She smiled and said that she is a hair dresser and wouldn’t mind doing my hair for me.

I was stunned.

Did I really want feathers in my hair? Would I look like a spring chicken, awkward and out-of-place? I threw caution to wind and told her to bring her feathers and do what she thinks looks best.

I have a lot more “research” to do on feather hair extensions but from what I have been told you can wash them, and straighten them, sounds pretty cool to me. The process of putting one in my hair didn’t sound painful. In fact it sounded pretty easy. I was told it is like a  hair  clamp and it clamps  unto your hair and the feathers stay put and “grow” with your natural hair. My new found friend says that it takes a few minutes to put them in. That’s neat!

Confession: this is my first step toward trendy in a long time and I am really excited about it. So excited in fact, that once I was out of sight of the public I closed the door and squealed. I am sure some dog a couple of blocks down barked at the high-pitched noise. I just had to share it with  you because it is fun.

So it’s your turn….

Do you have feather extensions? Nerdy trendy you participated in?

Please feel free to comment. I would love to hear about the crazy trends you tried.

4 Responses to “Adventures: Feather Hair Extensions”

  1. Melanie R April 21, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I want to see a picture of yours! This looks incredibly cool!

    • asnailslife April 21, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

      I will do an update post on them when I get them next week. I’m excited.

  2. clipins April 25, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Well ,the feather hair extensions is really cool!saved as favorite!

  3. giggy August 6, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    feather extensions look great on everybody!!
    i am so excited to get mine.

Leave a Reply

