Review: Food Saver

28 Apr

 

Originally when I saw the advertisements for this machine I thought “seriously who is going to buy that”. I guess God can use every day things to humble us because a few days later I was receiving one as a gift. I was excited because secretly I wanted one. So I plugged it in and gave it a go.

My favorite food of all time is Mexican. I think there are many reasons for this preference in food, but those are besides the point. My point in telling you this is so that you understand my disgust at eating brown guacamole. I think it is so gross when avocados break down and get brown and the water comes to the top of the guacamole and yeah…it is gross. So for me the ultimate test of my new Food Saver was could it truly keep my guacamole fresh for several days.

 

This picture was taken a month after I had made my guacamole. A whole month!!! I was shocked by the vibrant green color but utterly taken back when I gave this guacamole a taste. It was incredible just as fresh as the day I had made it. I was seriously sold on my Food Saver.

Overall, I am very pleased with this machine. I feel that the food saver does a phenomenal job of preserving food for long periods of time. The only downfall I found was when trying to “bag up” foods with liquids (soups, marinades etc.) that the machine would suck out some of the liquid into the machine. The machine still seals the bags but it is tricky and sometimes not as air-tight as food items that are solids.

If you are having a problem with your foods spoiling before you have a chance to use them, I would suggest giving the Food Saver a try.

Leave a Reply

