Top Secret Kitchen Tip: Spices

10 May

So you wanna my top-secret kitchen tip do you? 

It struck me like an unexpected bee sting the other day as I shopping at my local overpriced “healthy” food store. Which shall remain nameless (*cough Henry’s cough*).

As I was passing through the “bulk spices”, I only walk down that aisle to feel like I got one up on Columbus anyway, I realized that I could try buying some bulk spice and keeping them in air tight containers. So I trotted backward, quite a skill, and looked at the price on the jar. The price for cinnamon was 10.99 a lb! What! That is outrageous! Who would pay that? That’s when Mr. Snail came up behind me, it took him a little longer since I am such a skilled “trotter”, and asked “What’s going on?”.

Can you believe that price for some cinnamon? I stammered. Now suddenly realizing that I must still be helping to pay off the cost of Columbus’ ships. Mr. Snail smiled, like he does when he thinks I am being silly. He very nicely explained that unless I was going to buy a pound that the price was actually very reasonable.

I got it. So I jumped in and started to fill up my plastic take home bags with spices. Imagine my joy friends as cinnamon rang up at .50!  I literally patted myself on the back. Yup, in the store with everyone watching.

That is the day that I learned that shopping for spices “from the jar” are much cheaper than buying a small container of a spice at the store. If you keep them in air tight containers it keeps them super fresh and you can definitely taste it in your food you make.


4 Responses to “Top Secret Kitchen Tip: Spices”

  1. Nicole@HeatOvenTo350 May 10, 2011 at 7:35 am #

    I just barely realized the same thing. It’s especially nice when you have a spice you don’t use all that often. I hate buying a big container for a T or so. Those spice jars are adorable.

    • asnailslife May 10, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

      I know it was one of those ah-ha moments. The flavor of the spices is ten times more dynamic than they used to be. My husband took a bite of his dinner yesterday and exclaimed, “Is that paprika!?”. I thought it was cute not only that he knew the spice but that he could taste the difference.

  2. Kim May 10, 2011 at 8:53 am #

    LOL! You are scoffing at prices and buying spice jars from Crate & Barrel? Try Ikea, girlfriend! LOL! 😉 Yes, certain things at Henry’s ARE overpriced but they have some of the best prices on produce. And as with everything, stacking sales with coupons can get you some awesome bargains. 😉 sorry, I heart Henry’s so I had to defend it’s honor. hahaha

    • asnailslife May 10, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

      Ha Ha Kim. I guess you are right. I didn’t even think to go to Ikea. Coupons at Henry’s you are going to have to do a guest post for me on stacking coupons and shopping at Henry’s. I hear a “girl date” echoing in the air. Teach us how to love Henry’s because right now it is like the black sheep of my “family” of go-to stores…

Leave a Reply

