How to double your plants in your garden for free…well sorta

11 May

A few morning ago as I was in the garden I noticed that my mint plant was really overgrown. I mean there is only so many batches of mint ice cream a girl can make in a week. I remembered back to my experience last summer with my succulents cuttings and that is when the idea hit me. I thought to myself “Why not do the same thing with some of my plants from the garden. So mint was my first attempt. It worked! I couldn’t believe it!

Here is what i did:

First: I clipped a small piece from the base of the mint plant.

Second: I pulled away the excess leaves that would be submerged in the water and only left the top leaves. I read somewhere that plant leaves in water cause bacteria to grow in the jar (yuck) and eventually kill the plant faster (sad times).

After my mint stem got its snazzy hair cut I grabbed a glass from my cupboard. Confession, we drink out of mason jars on a daily basis because I think it makes the drink taste better. That is besides the point. I filled the cup with cold water and let my mint stem take a dip.

ahh….
Plant Spa

I placed the “plant spa” in a sunny window because what is a spa vacation without a tan? Then today as I was bouncing out the door to work I spotted something happening.
Check it out
A Root
I guess even plants like a few days off to be at the spa. I just have to convince Mr. Snail that if a plant can blossom like that with only a week at the spa, oh the possibilities for someone like me! Wish me luck…he he he

2 Responses to “How to double your plants in your garden for free…well sorta”

  1. Terry May 11, 2011 at 4:32 pm #

    I’m going to try it with my chocolate mint and if it makes it I will give it to you.

    • asnailslife May 11, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      Yes Please. I had chocolate mint last year but I don’t have any this year. I would love if you made me a cutting. Your the best!

Leave a Reply

