How to make homemade poptarts

31 May

I loved Pop Tarts as a college student because it was the easiest thing to grab and eat in class. To be honest they were cheap and came in packs of two, a mini-match made in heaven. For this reason, Pop Tarts have a very special place in my heart.  So you can understand my excitement about noticing this awesome contraption as I was “browsing” in Williams-Sonoma.

Toaster Pastry 001

My friend who was with me probably thought I was a tad strange as I went on and on about how incredible this new kitchen toy was going to work!  To top it all off I couldn’t believe the price….only 10 bucks. It was sold faster than you could say “Bon Appetit”.

I have to admit I have searching  the internet for homemade Pop Tart recipes for a while now and I keep coming up disappointed. It seems that everyone is making them but they are using the pre-made pie crust from the store. I really wanted to make my Pop Tarts from scratch. I know someone out there is shaking their head at my unwillingness to go “store-bought” but I just wanted to try it homemade all the way just once.

So I started with the filling because that is what is most important anyway. I found a great recipe from Sugar Crafter for Strawberry Vanilla Jam. Somebody pinch me! I was going to make the best stinking breakfast ever!!!

Pop Tart

So after making the delicious Strawberry Vanilla Bean Jam it was time to start filling my little tarts. This step was the most fun for me because it was so “fullfilling”, no pun intended, to know exactly what ingredients were in the filling.

Pop Tart

Now all that was left was to press them and bake them.

Pop Tart

Overall, these pastries were delicious. Better than I remembered! I am definitely going to make some more but next time I am going to try Nutella and smashed bananas. Tell me that doesn’t sound incredible. I didn’t end up buying my pie crust from the store, I found a really good recipe here on the Williams Sonoma Site. I didn’t use their recipe for the jam. I chose to use the Strawberry Vanilla Jam I made earlier in this post and it was incredible.

 

2 Responses to “How to make homemade poptarts”

  1. Kim May 31, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    Mmmm, sounds yummy! Glad it worked out for you. 🙂

  2. Sunday Baker May 31, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Yummo! Those look like fun to make and to eat!

Leave a Reply

