Lost Things: Mushrooms and Caterpillars

18 Jun

003

Random Thought:

I seriously just don’t get why mushrooms are supposed to be cute.

010

The other day while showing a couple of friends my garden, I noticed that I one of my plants had become Hometown Buffet. I remarked to my friends that it looks like the hungry caterpillar had come to visit me. I mumbled under my breath “Yeah. Dead caterpillar when I find it.” Well I guess I am horrible at mumbling because one of my friends, exclaimed you aren’t going to kill it are you?”

This is the moment in the story that I clarify that my friends I had over that day were about 3-7  years of age. Right. Now back to the story.

“Umm…I don’t think I will find it so it should be safe” not wanting to lie but not wanting to make my little friend cry either. She felt satisfied with that answer and decided the caterpillar would live another day and ran off to do cart wheels. Well the next morning as I was out in the garden I stumbled upon “Mr. Caterpillar” himself sitting happily on my plants probably taking a siesta after a big breakfast. I looked at the Mr. Caterpillar, yes I was calling him that, and Mr. Caterpillar looked at me and I knew I couldn’t do it.

I called my friend’s mom to see if they would like a caterpillar pet. Here let me allow you to eavesdrop:

Me: Hey, I found that caterpillar. Do you want it? (Feeling really silly to try to pawn off my caterpillar)

Mom: Oh yeah we would love to have it. (Later informed that my friend was clapping her hands and possibly jumping up and down)

Me: Oh great. I will bring him over later today.

When I got to the house, I was greeted by a very excited friend who had already made a caterpillar mansion for Mr. Caterpillar and was overly thrilled to host a “real” caterpillar. It was really cute to see someone so excited over a caterpillar.

The moral of the story: Don’t lose interest in every day beauty even if they are caterpillars and mushrooms.

Update: Mr. Caterpillar is living the good life over in his caterpillar mansion. 
2 Responses to “Lost Things: Mushrooms and Caterpillars”

  1. mama June 20, 2011 at 6:59 pm #

    i love the story, what treasures little ones see in everyday nuisances to us… i know the kids at my schooll think snails are a wonder of some sort and they are when you take the time to follow them to their next smorgsabord of bushes and plants!!!! love your precious!!!!!

Leave a Reply

