A Splash of Craftiness

24 Jun

“Seriously, what can be more fun than spending a few hours in an open studio?”

This was the beginning of my day. Wonder who I am talking to? Well none other than my best friend and partner in everything! I am trying to convince him that taking an art history class and demonstration would be the best way to spend our day off together. I wasn’t that convincing….not yet at least.

As I was about to jump in my sweet lil vintage hottie and drive down the studio who do you think came to meet me at the door. You guessed it….my partner in everything.

“Sweet. You wanna come? “

I asked very hesitantly, didn’t want to frighten the dear boy off. “Yeah..I’ll go check it out but if it is for kids or she has us drawing a self-portrait with crayons, I ‘m out of there.” I thought that was fair enough so off we went in a car with no air in the marvelous heat of California. What a picture.

When we arrived I casually asked if this was a class for kids or adults? She responded that it is geared to kids but adults can do it too. I saw my partner start to back away to the door. Luckily, the attendant added, “but painting is relaxing so you BOTH should come in.” God bless that lady she did more to save my impromptu date than she will ever know.

The tables were covered in white butcher paper and I thought to myself “at last someone who understands that art is messy.” Suddenly feeling a bit more at ease, I grabbed my paint brush and started to imagine all the things we were going to create.

That day we were exploring Dutch Hex Symbols and how to create one. We were told that they were symbols to represent your family or yourself. To find out more on Dutch Hex Symbols click here. They are very interesting.

As I mentioned before me and my hubby are like night in day. Our ways of creating art were very characteristic of our personalities. Ryan took the assignment as a task and began to draw with a pencil using rulers, pencils, and diagrams. I, on the other hand, reached for the paint and just began to paint what I felt. It was very funny to watch.

Here is Mr. Snail’s Art
015

Every color was perfectly chosen. Each triangle is exactly equal length from the other triangle. It was a perfect completion of the project. If the project would have been graded Mr. Snail would have received a gold star. I was very proud.

Here is my project:
014

I started with no general idea of what the outcome would be. I used some of the brightest colors I could find and I just painted. The teacher would have smiled at mine in a “poor girl” kind of way.

Final Thoughts:

Mr. Snail: Is really talented at drawing and painting. There are some techniques that he used like dry brushing and blending that you can’t see from the picture but are prevalent in his finished project.

Leave a Reply

