First Meal from the garden

6 Jul

Meals from the garden

Is it just me or are food prices going up?

I will spare you my complaining saga on that issue and instead tell you something fun. I went out in my garden today and had a field day picking the veggies that were out there. I mixed them all up, steamed those puppies and drizzled over a little bit of my special only use for special occasions Extra Virgin Olive Oil on the dish and Vialo!
blog 002

I am really proud of myself not only for making a dish from scratch no recipe but one that came from the garden which was pretty cool. The only exception was that I bought the carrots at the farmer’s market for a buck but carrots are hard to grow over here in my neck of the woods or shall I say on my side of the ocean.

Recipe:

1/2 box dried penne nooodles

2 summer squash clean and cut into equal sizes

3 carrots cleaned and cut into equal sizes (I love carrots that is why there are so many in this dish but you can put 2 if you like)

20 green beans clean and cut into equal sizes

2 TBS Extra Virgin Olive Oil

1/2 tsp Herb de Provence dried seasoning

After you cut and clean the veggies. I put them in a steamer for about 5 minutes. At this point you can add some Herb de Provence dried seasoning to the veggies. Cook the noodles during this time following the instructions on the box. When everything is cooked and settled nicely add the Extra Virgin Olive Oil and allow the recipe to cool so that the flavors can marry. After that you can go to town on your “organic” delicious meal.

2 Responses to “First Meal from the garden”

  1. Kristin July 6, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Food prices are DEFINITELY going up. I notice it every time I go to the store. It’s almost enough to make me stop drinking coffee. Then, I think of my friends…and how few friends I would have if I didn’t drink my morning coffee. 🙂
    Glad you are finding so much joy in your garden!

    • asnailslife July 6, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

      I knew it! Someone agrees with me and that makes the day well worth it! Your right about coffee breaks they are necessary. LOL

Leave a Reply

