Homemade Bagels that you can’t say no to.

18 Jul

I must admit I am NOT a breakfast person. I don’t think that I have ever been a huge breakfast person. As my siblings were munching on eggs and bacon I preferred a bowl of ice cream or a taco. I know what a rebel huh?

I have grown out of many quirky childhood habits but to my disappointment I have not grown out of eating “strange things” at breakfast. I guess it is finally time to admit to the world that breakfast just isn’t my thing…

That is until…I met Mr. Bagel and he changed my breakfast perspective forever. I know that some of you don’t enjoy Mr. Bagel because he can be a little clingy on your hips and everywhere else but in Mr. Bagel’s defense he really “stick around”. I know totally cheesy, but I just had to.

On with the story shall we?

Since I love Mr. Bagel oh so much I went to the store often to pick up a package which can get pretty pricey. I started buying the store brand but it just wasn’t the same as the name brand bagels that I was buying. Sad times. I felt that it was time to break up with Mr. Bagel.
Bagels

This is when I thought “why not make my own bagels! I have to admit at first I was a little nervous but the results were incredible. I don’t think I will be buying overpriced bagels from the store for a while. The picture above is my sesame seed bagel. Yum.

This is a picture of my cinnamon sugar bagel with strawberry cream cheese (look for a post on that tomorrow)

Strawberry cream cheese

So you want to make your own bagels now too do you? Right on! Power to you!
Here is the recipe I used:click here

Psstt….over here! Tomorrow I will show you how to make your own cream cheese for these bagel delights…you don’t want to miss this!

3 Responses to “Homemade Bagels that you can’t say no to.”

  1. lacey - a sweet pea chef July 18, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Glad you enjoyed my recipe! Thanks for the link back to my site 🙂 Aren’t homemade bagels awesome!?!

    • asnailslife July 18, 2011 at 9:08 pm #

      Yes! Thank you for your recipe. You changed my kitchen for the better. Keep cooking yummy treats!

  2. Nicole@HeatOvenTo350 July 19, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    I love homemade bagels. My trusty recipe has been failing me lately, so I think I’ll give this one a whirl. I love the moustache on Mr. Bagel. 🙂

Leave a Reply

