Ding Dong Ditch Flower Pot Gift

26 Jul

Hey Everyone,

Lately, chalk board paint has been all the rage for me. I love it. I was bummed that it only came in a few colors (boring green and black). That was my disappointment until I read a post from Apartment Therapy and my heart leaped. Finally chalk board paint in any color under the sun. My crafty mind started swirling with great ideas. I had to sit down it was just that overwhelming.

To the paint shelf I go! In our family we have  joke that my husband hoards paint cans. He doesn’t really hoard them but we painted our house all in one big “swoop” and so we have a bunch of cans with leftover paint. It drives me crazy. Yes, I am one of those crafters that once you are done with a project you clean up all the supplies and you are done with it. I know I am rare! LOL

So back to the paint cans.
Bear Paint Can
Today was their day to make something beautiful (again) and then hit the road! To say I was “gleeful” would be an understatement. First project to re-purpose an UGLY old terra cotta flower-pot! This thing was so not cute. So I applied a fresh cute of  chalk board paint to the entire pot and planted some succulents. Much like this project.

Here is how it turned out.
Chalk Board Flower Pot

I really liked it! I decided to have a little fun with this gift and ding-dong ditch my sisters house! So me and my hubby snuck over to her house all stealthy like and we left this “gift” and ding-dong ditched her. The whole ride home we were singing “ha ha we ding-dong ditched her!”. Well the joke was on us she wasn’t even home. HA!
Surprise Gift

2 Responses to “Ding Dong Ditch Flower Pot Gift”

  1. Candias July 26, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I love the project. I should do some of those projects and surprise people with them. As for saving the paint, I have to agree with Ryan on this one. I can’t tell you how many times I pull out that old paint can to touch up a scratch on a wall, a vaccuum mark on the baseboard….we probably have 25 in the garage…I am getting ready to take them in for recycling, my rule of thumb, if the color is no longer in the house, its going!

    • asnailslife July 27, 2011 at 7:25 am #

      25 paint cans!!! Good point about the scratches on the wall…hmmm….where did I put that paint can.

Leave a Reply

