Catch Up!

1 Aug

Hi Everyone,

Today is “fill you in” day. I totally made that up. Although that is what this blog post is going to feel like. I feel bad because I have so many projects, things, and crafts I have been involved with that I haven’t taken a moment with you and and caught up with you. So grab a cup of coffee or if you are like me a bowl of ice cream and take a load off. Trust me your in good company.

Wait…I need to get my bowl of ice cream.

I’m back bowl of ice cream in hand and suddenly so much more relaxed. Isn’t that amazing how a bowl of ice cream can do that for you?

In the Garden….

I am very proud to say that my tomatoes are finally ready to eat. I have been stalking them for the past two month and finally they are turning red or in the case of my heirloom purple tomatoes…purple.
Purple Tomato

In the craft room:
Chalk has been all the rage!!! I love chalk. In addition to ding dong ditch flower pots I made a ton of mini chalkboards for my mom’s pre-k classroom. Super easy and inexpensive.

Chalk

I have also had a crush on my felt. But it is a secret crush so I am not going to show pictures of my finished projects just yet.

Felting

Update: 27 before 28
I am about half way done with most of the items on the list which is pretty good so far. The hardest item on the  is reading 100 books before my birthday. I am a little nervous. According to my Goodreads notification I have read 39 books so needless to say I am a little behind.  In my defense I have started more than I have finished. I know that sounds silly but I don’t read past page 100 if I don’t like a book. I call it “tough love”. But enough about books I didn’t like. Here a couple of books I read in July that I really enjoyed.

Can it Bottle It Smoke It

I don’t often buy books but for this one I think I am going to make an exception. I really enjoyed how this book used ingredients that you already have in your pantry for the most part and procedures were straightforward and clear. I think I may have to print out a coupon and go and purchase this book. Very Good read if you are into making everyday food at home. I highly recommend this book.

Once again young adult fiction is stealing my heart. Divergent by Veronica Roth was a fast paced kick butt girl character book. If I had to put this in a category of book I have read recently I would group it with the Maze Runner by James Dashner and Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins. Yes I went there and put this book in the same category. I know that was bold but it has some similarities.  I didn’t say it was as good as either of those books but it was still a good summer read. The sequel hasn’t been released yet but when it does I will be there to read it.

Divergent

Things I am going to try this month:

  • Making salsa with my home grown tomatoes and chilis
  • Start watching Chuck and The Middle. I can’t wait.
  • Read One Day by David Nicholls and Hotel on the Corner of Bittersweet by Jamie Ford (book club books)
Well I think you are caught up with me so I am going to go get started on some of these things. See ya’ll back tomorrow!
2 Responses to “Catch Up!”

  1. Chris August 1, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    You are to cute I loved all that you had to say it really brightened my day I love you La

    • asnailslife August 1, 2011 at 9:11 pm #

      You read my blog! Oh man. You made my day.

Leave a Reply

