DIY: Handy Dandy Notebook

10 Aug

I love when kids go back to school for tons of reasons but my favorite is that all the pencils and paper go on sale. YIPPPPEEE!

I am no longer in school nor do I have  kids who go to school but it is so much fun to go out with the crowds and walk up and down the school aisles and pick up a box of 24 cent crayons. It’s just so empowering.

Now that I have half of you laughing at me and the other half is saying “I do the same thing!”. I am going to let you in on a little secret about me….are you ready?

Alright…I carry two things with me wherever I go…even to the grocery store.

1. My point and shoot camera

2. My handy dandy notebook

It just so happens that yesterday I ran out of paper in my handy dandy notebook. Oh shucks! So I started meandering the school aisles but couldn’t find anything that fit my particular taste. “Oh well. I guess I am going to have to start from scratch.”

I went home and got to work. I had scrap booking paper, catalogs, cereal boxes and floral wire spread out all over the floor. Mr. Snail stuck his head in and then quickly closed the door and said “looks like you are really into it.” What is funny is I didn’t even see him come in. Which means I was totally in the zone.

Several hours later I was proud to present my newly created book of awesome! Wanna take a peak?

Handmade notebook

I don’t have a binding machine (on my wish list) but I did manage to “bind” my own book with some floral wire and a hole punch.

 

I finally found a good use for my old fashion catalogs.

I know the plans

To do list

If you are interested in where I got the planner pages. I got them free from  from Mollie’s blog

2 Responses to “DIY: Handy Dandy Notebook”

  1. mollie August 10, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    I love what you’ve done with this! The binding is brilliant!

  2. SewTara August 10, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    Wow, binding it yourself is ambitious! Great job!
    Hope the pages work out for you, I’m loving mine so far.

Leave a Reply

