Anniversary Present: Adventure Book

24 Aug

I love August and no it’s not because of the blazing heat! It’s because it’s our anniversary month. Which is super important and special. For that reason, I will be taking the some time to celebrate with Mr. Snail. So I will be back blogging on Monday. Sorry guys.

So to make up for that…I am going to give you a little extra in this post. Some marriage advice (I am probably not married long enough to give it but….oh well)

A Snail’s Marriage Adivice

Get your heavenly GPS out. 

 Give God the wheel and try not to back seat drive.

Be transparent with each other

Spend time each day to talk to each other about the little stuff. It is important and worth turning off the TV or computer.

Pray together about your future.

Follow Thumper’s advice which is: If you don’t have something nice to say don’t say anything at all.

I would add that you should never talk negative about your significant other in front of other people…no exceptions!!!

Laugh together whenever possible

The other afternoon as I was grocery shopping with Mr. Snail, he mentioned that we should make a book to collect our memories. I replied very sarcastically, “You mean a scrapbook. Yay, I’m not really into that.” Mr. Snail smiled at me (not a nice smile but a teasing smile), “I didn’t mean a scrap book. I don’t care if it is an ugly notebook but we should just right down some of our memories, jokes and you know stuff.” Realizing that Mr. Snail was feeling a little uncomfortable sharing this information, I jumped in and said “sounds good man. We will put together something.” 

Probably because I didn’t use Evernote to write that down, I forgot about that conversation. That is up until today when I was thinking of an anniversary present for Mr. Snail. You see, we have a tradition in our house. The  tradition is that for our anniversary you give one homemade present and one store bought gift. That’s just how quirky we are.

After sitting and thinking for a long time, I remembered this conversation and I thought to myself why not make an adventure book for us. I grabbed an old cereal box and got to work. I am not much of a scrapbooker but I try.

004

005

These pictures are from the our dating years. These made me laugh we were so awkward trying to be grown up but so not!

008

I love this page because it shows us through the years and I think I will appreciate that when I’m older. Or maybe I won’t ha ha!

009

This page is so very special to me in so many ways. First, I feel like putting a sticker on this picture that says “Paradise Falls or bust!”. What makes this page so dear to my heart is the story behind the picture. Mr. Snail and his family (grandparents included) went over to Sequoia National Park to hike for the day. I had never been there  so I was overly excited (to say the least). Mr. Snail’s Nana, who will always hold a dear place in my heart, saw this cabin and encouraged me and Mr. Snail to go in and take a picture. Not being ones to disappoint we went in the little cabin and very shyly stood by each other to take the picture (this was our first year dating). She clicked the picture and replied “It looks like your little home. Quite a fixer upper but cute.” We were very shy our first year dating and I think I blushed a little but it made me smile. His nana never get to see our nest but looking at this picture reminds me of her and the confidence she had in our “young love”.

 

Do you have any marriage advice to pass along? 

Do you have any silly traditions in your house? 

I would love to read what you all have to say.Please  leave a comment. It’s makes my day!

7 Responses to “Anniversary Present: Adventure Book”

  1. veronica August 24, 2011 at 7:08 am #

    Up is one of our all time favs! CJ tells my dad “grandpa your not going to go to shady oaks!”

  2. Andee Eve @ bearing fruit August 24, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    Hi Laura!
    I’m so glad you stopped by my blog & I had to pop by yours to say hi. I love this post and I love your adventure book. Awesome. Great marriage advice too.
    Isn’t being married the best?

    On another note, I looked for your email here on your blog, but can’t find it, so I’ll just put it here in the comments box. I hope this isn’t too much to put out here in your comments. If it is, I guess you can just delete it. But I really feel the Lord tugging at me to share this with you. You shared on my post that you have been praying so long for a baby. I have a book I’d like to share with you.

    Isn’t God so amazing? Check this out- that is exactly what my post was about, that you commented on. My husband and I, we are in the same place, trusting Him about our babies.

    He says in His word that He will love us and bless us and bless the fruit of our wombs. That there is not a barren man or woman among His people (that’s us!) He makes the barren woman to keep house and be a joyful mother of children.

    Bring it on.

    Let me join you in standing and believing for God’s blessing in your life, and that He is blessing you *right now* with a baby!

    Which brings me to the book. It’s called “Supernatural Childbirth” by a woman called Jackie Mize. She shares her testimony of being told she’d never conceive, and how she stood on God’s word and conceived and bore 4 beautiful healthy children! It has all of the verses from the word stating God’s promises to us about having babies. How to stand against the enemy.

    Give it a look. I nabbed mine on amazon used for just a couple dollars.

    With blessings and love,
    Andee

    • asnailslife September 6, 2011 at 8:05 am #

      Andee,
      Your post blessed my heart today.I am so glad that God gives us sisters like yourself to bless each other and encourage one another. I am going to check that book out at the library. Thanks friend.

  3. Nicole@HeatOvenTo350 August 24, 2011 at 2:10 pm #

    What a cute post! Congrats on your anniversary. I don’t have any marriage advice to add, but I agree with what you put in the post.

  4. Isra September 4, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    Hi Mrs.Snail 🙂

    Its my first time to read your blog and it made me fee l so attached and want to follow up so I bookmarked it. I am from Dubai and was comparing if the wedding advice would differ from a western point of view to an eastern point of view, but you are spot on and your advices are general and work for almost all cultures.

    I am not married but this is what I learned from my married friends. I would add to that

    “Do things from your heart whether its the food you cook, or the clothes you fold as your significant other would feel that.”

    “Make him feel that you are his friend and partner as friendships last while other relationships may fade, so if you are good friends your relationship will last.”

    • asnailslife September 6, 2011 at 8:00 am #

      Hi Isra,
      I am so very glad that you came over and said hello. Every new face that stops in always makes me so happy. I enjoyed reading your comment and I appreciated the unique perspective in which you read my post. I had never thought about comparing marriage advice across cultures…you definitively got me thinking. Your advice was a great addition to the post. Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I particularly was encouraged by your first piece of advice. I was folding socks that day and I don’t really like to fold socks but your advice was definitively encouraging. It at least got me to fold socks with a smile. 🙂

  5. Isra September 7, 2011 at 1:22 am #

    My pleasure 😀 Glad you liked it 😉

Leave a Reply

