About being a lady…

2 Sep

I thought I was going to laugh out loud as I was helping my grandmother clean out her apron drawer. Yes, you heard me right her apron drawer. I would venture to say that she had more aprons than she had clothes. I was just dumbfounded. Why does someone need that many aprons???

I very sarcastically remarked “Hey grandma? Do you think you have enough aprons?” She looked at me very seriously and replied “you do have apron I presume? I sat quietly for a moment thinking through my possibilities of owning an apron…very slim. I informed her that aprons weren’t really my thing. I told her that I just cook in the moment rather than trying to find an apron (in an apron drawer). “Oh dear. What has become of these kids today. There aren’t any decent ladies in the kitchen!” she retorted.

Did my grandma just call me an indecent lady because I don’t wear an apron when I am cooking? That’s messed up!!

Feeling somewhat rejected I curtly retorted “what’s so decent about aprons? She went on to inform me that women used to get dressed up for the entire day in the morning. They would stay “to the nines” all day so that no matter what the day may present they were always ready to have lunch with neighbors or host a dinner party. According to grandma a decent lady would use an apron while cooking so that she didn’t “soil” her good clothes.

Now it made sense….I don’t get dressed for any occasion at the beginning of the day, unless you are referring to the fact that I am always wearing my tennis shoes, but I don’t think she was.

She went on to say things about doilies, nice serving dishes and coupons. It was a very interesting conversation. I should have recorded it for you, on second thought maybe not. At the end of the conversation she handed me three new aprons, a doily and several “nice” baking and serving dishes. She remarked that a nice apron and pretty baking dishes make the kitchen pretty as you cook. She sent me home with all my goodies and stamped me with this remark “we will make a lady of you yet!”.

Later that night as I was making dinner I took her advice. I figured what could it hurt? I tied my apron around my waist (even though I was only wearing a t-shirt and jeans) and I rocked my new dishes.
vintage 010

vintage 008

As I was baking with my matching dishes and my apron (no my apron doesn’t  match my dishes!) I laughed to myself. Maybe granny knows a thing or two; considering I felt like Donald Trump could have walked into my kitchen at any time and I would have been completely prepared to serve him mac and cheese in my coordinating dishware and starched apron. Maybe I am becoming a lady after all.

5 Responses to “About being a lady…”

  1. Barb September 2, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    What a special conversation…. From a VERY special lady 😉 hee hee

  2. Kate September 4, 2011 at 11:58 pm #

    This was such a good read! i can see your grandma’s point, i’m SO unlady like and sometimes i’d quite like to be! xo

    • asnailslife September 6, 2011 at 7:52 am #

      Hey Kate,
      I know I am only on the crest of the mountain myself. I think it was only a few years ago that I really started to enjoy cooking. You know what they say a journey begins with one step. 🙂 Thanks so much for stopping by. I enjoy seeing new faces.

  3. Alex September 6, 2011 at 4:34 pm #

    Awww that was so sweet. Makes me want to get all dressed up and get an apron 🙂

Leave a Reply

