Counting Blessings:

12 Sep

On September 1, I decided to challenge myself, and anyone else who wanted to join in, to take one picture each day for one thing they are thankful for. If you want to read more about it Click Here. Some of you joined the Flickr group which was awesome because I didn’t feel so alone in this challenge. . 🙂  So I thought it would be nice to share one of my stories from this challenge here on my blog for those of you who are just observing.

Counting Blessings: I am thankful for Pizza Hut

I love pizza. I seriously think I should have eaten much more pizza and ice cream as a teenager when my metabolism was in over drive. I allow myself the luxury of pizza and ice cream only on date nights. Which is every week so please don’t pity me. It’s hard but someone has to have boundaries.

This past weekend, my hubby and I had gone on a long 4 hour bike ride. We got lost, we found our way, and we got lost again. As we were laughing and trying to race each other (we are kinda competitive) back home he suggested we go on a date. I knew what that meant and so did he. He grabbed his cell phone faster than John Wayne in an old western and speed dialed Pizza Hut. The attendant answering the phone assured us that our “date pizzas” would be in the oven in about 5 minutes and would be ready for pick up in 20. Retelling this story, I am surprised they didn’t call Mr. Snail by his name (I feel like we talk to this guy every week).

We both raced home, jumped in the car and headed out to get our pizzas. When we got to the there and told the attendant our order. He told us that our pizzas were on the house. We looked at him quizzically….

The question that was going through my mind was, did a rat run across my pizza so now they are free? I guess something similar was going through Mr. Snail’s head too and so he asked to speak with the manager just to be sure.

After speaking with the manager we realized that there was a mistake on their part and they couldn’t fix it, nor charge us, as it would mess up their logs for the day. In other words the pizzas were on the house.

I was so excited. I looked at the manager and said, “That’s awesome. What a blessing!” He just smiled and said “don’t forget to come back and order more pizza.” “No problem!” We shouted as we walked out the door.

 

It was our date night pizza blessing.

So what blessing have happened to you this month? 

One Response to “Counting Blessings:”

  1. Nicole@HeatOvenTo350 September 13, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    I love this story. Every bit of it. A blessing for me this month is Google+ video chat, so I can see my family.

Leave a Reply

