Homemade Animal Cookies

20 Sep

I really love Mother’s animal cookies. I can seriously munch on the entire bag without shame! They are just one of those childhood treats that my mom never let me eat enough of and now as an adult I just have no self-control. * chuckling to myself*

I thought to myself, “If the store-bought cookies are this good just imagine how much better a homemade cookie would be?” That’s when the idea was born. I recruited some of my friends who are too nice to say no and began cooking.
Animal Cookies
We started with a basic sugar cookie recipe. Martha Stewart’s sugar cookie recipe (click here) is the best sugar cookie recipe. Seriously, not too crunchy but crunchy and soft enough. Delicious.

After I got done baking the cookie I let it cool completely.

I then melted some white chocolate. I use Wilton’s candy melts (click here) you can buy them at Micheal’s. I have tried other types of melting chocolate but my personal favorite is Wilton’s candy melts.

I used a fork to dip the cookie in the chocolate. I used a fork so that after I have dipped the cookie I could tap the fork on the side of the bowl and allow the excess chocolate to fall off the cookie so that the cookie isn’t a lump but rather a shape of an animal.

After dipping the sugar cookie I added sprinkles and placed the cookies in the fridge. By placing the cookies in the fridge it allows the chocolate to harden. I only waited a minute or two for the cookies to harden. If you are impatient like me, I placed them in the freezer for faster results.

Overall, I think the cookies looked pretty swell and tasted dynamite. They would make for cute birthday favors or gifts for that matter.

2 Responses to “Homemade Animal Cookies”

  1. Candias October 16, 2011 at 6:51 pm #

    Katelyn just made these…and they are truely amazing….thank goodness she packaged them up right away to give to friends…or I would have eaten most of them!! We even bought the cute little noah’s ark cookie cutters. Now we just have to wait for the weather to cool so we can buy the chocolate from Michael’s or Joanns…have to have that 40% off coupon you know. Thanks for the baking lessons for Kate!

    • asnailslife October 19, 2011 at 10:47 am #

      I love making these cookies. That recipe is the best one I have found yet for a sugar cookie. Then again I am super picky when it comes to sugar cookies. I know Micheal’s seems to be having a tough time getting the chocolate melts to the store. I guess I can’t complain because I adore this hot weather!

Leave a Reply

