Finally…fall

19 Oct

I started thinking about how my own life goes through these same type of seasons. Contrary to popular opinion it is not always butterflies and earthworms around here. Some days, or months, or years, I  come face to face with a horn worm. EEWWWW!

 My “fall”,  figuratively speaking, has been a season of asking the hard questions and NOT giving myself reassuring answers right away. Allowing myself to wrestle through those questions.

You know questions like..

 * Where is God when I feel so alone?

* Lord do  you care about what’s going on? 

* What do you say when you don’t know what to pray? 

My fall has also been a season of waiting. Let’s just be honest waiting really sucks. Doesn’t matter if you are waiting for the toaster to finish your toast or your waiting for God to move in your life….waiting just sucks. Especially when you are asked to wait a long time. Now, I am not going to dwell on this point but I want to assure you that I know waiting….and I don’t like it. Perhaps, that is the reason that I find myself waiting quite often. 🙂  I guess practice makes perfect and I am no where near close to perfect….can’t even see perfect if I was using binoculars.

There are several verses that I have found super helpful during my “fall” season. I hope they encourage you as well.

Psalms 37: 7a

Be still in the presence of the Lord, and wait patiently for him to act

It’s not even funny how many times I have come back to this verse. 

Psalms 37:23

The steps of the godly are directed by the Lord, He delights in EVERY detail of their lives. Though they stumble, they will not fall, for the Lord holds them by the hand. 

Every details means the good and the bad. For so many years I skipped the word “every” in this verse.

Psalms 39: 7

And so Lord, where do I put my hope? My ONLY hope is in you.

I’m learning that it is easy to place my hope in Christ but to keep my hope in Christ is a daily challenge. 

Philippians 4:6-7 

Dont’ worry about anything; instead pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. If you do this, you will expeience God’s peace which is far more wonderful than the human mind can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus. 

I just read this and think this is exactly what I should be doing, but then I get busy and don’t.

I know this a bit divergent from my typical blog post but I really just wanted to share my heart with you and hopefully encourage you.

Because when we come full circle we truly are blessed!

Leave a Reply

