D.I.Y Christmas Photos

24 Dec

 christmas 2011 393
My family aren’t typically the ones to take Christmas photos. In fact we don’t take many photos at all. The reason for that is that we are often times teasing, chasing and baking to stop and get dressed nice for pictures. We like to live in the moment rather than capture the moment.

This year, I really wanted to try something different. You know, break the mold. I was going to send out Christmas cards. Well, that plan got foiled but I did end up with some really cute Christmas pictures.

Let me show you how I did them.

First you are going to need a tripod, camera and Christmas lights.

First, I used this lens (you can try it on a normal lens as well it just might not be as blurry)

Here are the fine details of the  photo:

Exposure 0.05 sec (1/20)
Aperture f/1.8
Focal Length 50 mm
ISO Speed 3200

You don’t have to follow this exactly but try to use the smallest f-stop (Large aperature) you have on your camera. Try to use the highest or second highest ISO setting you have on your camera. Remember that the higher the ISO number the more noise (or as I say fluffies) you will have in your photo.

I set my camera to a self timer mode which helped incredibly because we were able to be natural and have fun with it. As you can see here.
 christmas 2011 407

Once you get the hang of it, it’s really fun. By the end we were laughing and being silly and having a grand ole’ time.

 

Merry Christmas everyone!

One Response to “D.I.Y Christmas Photos”

  1. Kathleen Launder December 24, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    So cute, so cute! You guys are adorable! Merry Christmas. 🙂

Leave a Reply

