I opened it up and it was…just what I wanted

28 Dec

We have many traditions for Christmas in our family. I suposse that is part of the “magic” of Christmas. One of our traditions is that everyone gets to open one present and every one else watches and waits to see what that person recieved. I seriously think this steams from us being kids and wanting to open all our presents in 6.9 seconds. I have a slight feeling this may have been a parental trick to keep us kiddos from rushing through Christmas. All the same even though we are much older, we still want to tear through the presents and so the tradition remains.

Another one of our family traditions is that you never know who is going to stop by. One of the things may family has always done is to stay home all day on Christmas and play with our toys and hang out with our friends. My mom makes tons of food and people just stop over and it is so much fun. Plus you can’t blame us when all our friends are awesome cooks and bring over the most splendid food.

The picture above is a tamale wrapped in banana leaves. One of our friends brought several of these over to share with our family. My favorite part was the string wrapped around the tamale it was a like a little package. So cute.

My dear friend, who is extremely talented crafter ( I look up to her) gave us cute little sock monkey cup cozies. I just wanted to scream it was so dang cute. I LOVED it. Me and my monkey cozy have become very close.

I was found under the Christmas tree trying to model my adorable dog nephew so I can practice using my camera lens. I am really into the Bokeh effect right now.

Over all it was a great Christmas full of food, inspiration and friends.

Did you have a good Christmas? Looking forward to the new year?

4 Responses to “I opened it up and it was…just what I wanted”

  1. Candias Chalker December 28, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    That sock monkey cozy is absolutely adorable….I am a huge sock monkey fan!

  2. Candias Chalker December 28, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    Did the person who made the sock monkey make it from a pattern, I would love to get the pattern if possible.

    • asnailslife December 29, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      She followed a pattern. I will see if she can photocopy it to me. She was trying to show me and got some of it on video but it was kinda hard for me with everyone talking and jumping and screaming around us.

  3. Kathleen Launder December 30, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    Laura…I screamed too when I saw that monkey cozy…such a CUTE widdle face!!! I want one too! I can’t knit or crochet to save my life but Andrew (yes, my son) is learning. Maybe I can give him the pattern? …or I’ll just buy one from her… or you?
    Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

