My new literary crush..

9 Jan

Over the weekend I fell in love with a series of books. I have to admit that this isn’t a common occurance for me but when it happens it is true bliss. My last love were the Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins that was about a year and half ago. I have been on a search to find a book that can even compare to that one. Little success.

That is until this weekend.

I had this book on my to-read list but was so bombarded with cookbook and children’s literature that it was on the farthest back burner. My sister being an avid reader asked me if I had an recommendations. I mentioned that the Poison Study by Maria V. Snyder might be worth her time. I was expecting her next question: “have you read it?”. I mentioned that while I had not read it I did read the summary and it looked intriguing.

This weekend was one of those couch potato weekends. My sister asked me to read to her so we spend the next few hours engrossed in this book. Wow! Wow! Wow! Not only is there danger, excitement and mystery but it is centered around food. Hate to burst your bubble but the food is poisoned but that didn’t dismay us. We are about half way through the book but so far so good.

 

I would be bold enough to say that if you enjoyed The Hunger Games that you may find this book worth your time. 

3 Responses to “My new literary crush..”

  1. asnailslife January 12, 2012 at 8:22 am #

    The author is from your college alma mater. That’s cool.

  2. Domestic Goddess in Training February 1, 2012 at 9:26 pm #

    I love The Hunger Games series and I am not afraid to say so. I also really liked Poison Study as well. YA fantasy is kind of a guilty pleasure for me. If you want some other book candy along the same lines… Try the Hex Hall series…it is also a fun one.

    • asnailslife February 2, 2012 at 12:29 pm #

      Oh thank you so much for recommendation. I will definitely check that one out. I was just commenting that I currently don’t have anything to read.

Leave a Reply

