Made from trash

28 Jan

cilantroDo you know how expensive herbs are at the store? Like 3 bucks a pop! I think my eyes were bugging out of my head when I saw the price tag. Seriously, that is a ton of money for a one time gig with herbs. I typically, don’t buy herbs at the grocery store because I usually just go get them out of my garden. Unfortunately, my garden is hibernating so to find some in there would be impossible.
Oregano
So I begrudgingly purchased the herbs. As I was about to take my bags and sulk all the way to the car the clerk asked me if I ever tried to plant the herbs? I think I may have hugged the poor girl from sheer delight. Of course…plant them. Due to weather conditions growing anything right now would be silly. I needed a container.

That’s when luck threw me a bone…or rather a milk crate. I was over my grandmother’s house when I saw this old soda crate in the trash pile. She was happy enough to let me have it seeing as it was headed for the dump truck anyway.

I gleefully ran home and got to work. Needless to say I was very pleased with the result and so where my herbs.

Milk Crate

Leave a Reply

