Trash to Treasure

7 Feb

Hey Everyone,

I know it has been a while and I am sorry for that. I have to be honest. I haven’t been reading nor have I been visiting my craft room.

*insert gasp*

I have however been shopping thrift store and looking for the ever so elusive yard sale signs. Just as luck would have it I was driving home the other day and I spotted a yard sale sign. I browsed around (nothing is my thrilling then shopping through other people’s junk) and decided there was nothing I wanted. Mr. Snail on the other hand had found something that caught his eye. A very old (very ugly) side table. Apparently, while I was “shopping” he had asked the yard sale attendee how much the side table cost.

He came over very discreetly and mentioned that the table was only 5 bucks. He thought this was a great idea. Myself on the other hand hated the ugly thing.  “Fine.” I retorted very tartly.

We ended up taking the side table home.

The next day as I was browsing alone (I am a fast learner) at the thrift store I came across a very vintage looking side table. It wasn’t the color I necessarily wanted but I figured I could paint it. I bought that beauty for 10 bucks and was happy as a clam.

A few days later (now you know why I wasn’t in my craft room…I had bigger fish to fry) as I was sanding this table down to its original beauty an idea struck me. Why not sand them both down and then repaint them both. I love those light bulb moments.

As you may have already guessed. I sanded them both done to their “younger years” and I decided to paint one and stain the other. I felt so proud walking into Lowes and declaring that I needed sand paper and wood stain. It’s silly but I felt like “I am woman. Hear me roar.” Ok….that really is silly.

The finished products were awesome. I mean for 15 bucks you really can’t beat that. Or could you? Off to the thrift store.

This one is the piece I found at the thrift store.

Side Table

This is the piece Mr. Snail found at the yard sale. I have to admit this is one of my favorite pieces because we use this as my cookbook stash.

I believe this is the first one to be crossed off my 28 Before 29 list

Night Stand

4 Responses to “Trash to Treasure”

  1. chalker February 7, 2012 at 3:25 pm #

    WOWZERS…you did a great job! i must admit I have only been to a few garage sales, happened to be walking by…got a great desk for Katelyn for $15, guy said he could never get it to stop wobbling…ever heard of tightening the screws that hold it together….beautiful and a free dining room-crafting table to me now. We have got to yard sale some Saturday and look for treasures

    • asnailslife February 8, 2012 at 11:53 am #

      I would love to go on a Saturday and yard sale around town. I will warn you though I can get “overly-excited” by a good find. Mr. Snail remarks that I can make his blood pressure go up. If you are still up for the challenge..I would love to have you. The good yard sales usually start in the spring when everyone is “cleaning out the junk”. Ha ha their junk is my treasure. Not scared yet? Sure let’s hang out. LOL

  2. Allie February 7, 2012 at 7:06 pm #

    I think they’re both just darling! Such great finds!
    I recently found a beautiful mid-century desk for a mere $10 that I can’t wait to get a fresh coat of paint on. I’m loving the look of your first table so much that I’m thinking white shall be the perfect color!

    • asnailslife February 8, 2012 at 11:50 am #

      A desk for 10 bucks. Awesome Deal!!! I like the white paint it makes everything feel clean and new. Good luck with your project. Keep me posted. I would love to see a picture when you are done with it.

Leave a Reply

