My favorite love story (ours)

14 Feb

birthday weekend 163

Mr. Snail and myself had grew up together. I was that spicy child that everyone thanks their lucky stars they didn’t have. I like to think that I was bursting at the seams with life! Mr. Snail on the other hand was more quiet and enjoyable. Needless to say that our circles of friends didn’t intersect until our early twenties.

My friends (unskilled cupids) would mention him in conversation but I really wasn’t interested in him. To be frank, I was far more interested in late night baseball games, saving the world, and reading books. Oh to be a teen again! We helped out in the same ministry at church so I soon found myself laughing with him playing late night games of UNO. (Little did I know, he strategically volunteered there to get to know me. So sneaky)

We really were becoming quite chummy.

While the foundation of our sweet little friendship was under way, God had bigger fish to fry (so sneaky!). It just so happened that around that time a dear friend of mine was moving away. I was crestfallen. We decided to throw her a luxurious party (because I’m fancy like that) at Denny’s at 2 AM (we were trying to be posh). I called Mr. Snail and extended the invitation 20 minutes before the party was to start. He showed up (I really didn’t notice…already missing my friend) and low and behold the only seat open was the chair next to me.

Well……Well…..Well

We ended up talking the whole three hours about hiking, music and God (those are the topics I remember most vividly).

I was really beginning to like this guy.

He walked me to my car and asked if I worked the next day. I thought it was kinda nosey to ask that but “oh well”. We said good night and I gave him a high five.

The next day…

He shows up to my work with flowers. He opened the door for me and said “Will you be my girlfriend?”. Mind you, we were just starting to become friends so my response was a lackadaisical “sure sounds fun!”.

I went to work and he went home. I would like to tell you that I was level headed and calm but that wouldn’t be the truth.

birthday weekend 161

Through our dating years and into our married years we have found on numerous occasions that we are distinctly opposite. Mr. Snail being of a quieter spirit and myself being a bit rambunctious. In the end, despite our differences we have one common factor: We are best friends and that’s all that matters in this love story.

2 Responses to “My favorite love story (ours)”

  1. Nicole@HeatOvenTo350 February 15, 2012 at 1:29 pm #

    I love hearing love stories! I didn’t want to give my husband the time of day when I first met him, too, but darned if he wasn’t persistent. Hope you had a great Valentine’s together!

    • asnailslife February 20, 2012 at 12:31 pm #

      Haha our poor hubby’s. Maybe that is why they liked us so much. LOL

Leave a Reply

