Photoshop Newbie: black & white photos that pop

10 Apr

I am trying to teach myself Photoshop Elements. My husband has reported that I mumbled something about layers and filters in my sleep. I have read several magazines on Photoshop Elements. I have skimmed one very boring  instructional book (gag*) and although I have progressed past the whole deer in headlights look…I have to admit I’m no professional. See my problem is that I am a type A personality (the whole nine yards with the lists and the schedules and the having to be the top of your class obbession) the only problem is that when you are teaching yourself you are just trying to be better than yourself. So confusing…head hurts.

 

With most of my hopes dashed on ever being able to understand Photoshop Elements I picked up this book: The Photoshop Elements 9 book for digital photographers by Scott Kelby and Matt Kloskowski  Amazon has it here. I have to say this is one of the best books that I have read on Photoshop Elements. The authors are witty and informative which keeps my attention and takes the serious edge off my Type A personality. I highly recommend it.

Here is how I post-edited my photo (I did it according to the book mentioned above)

1. Open photo in Camera Raw

2. Click Auto button

3. Move Saturation all the way to the left (take the color out)

4. Move clarity slider to the right (as much as you think looks good)

5. Move contrast to the right

6. Brightness at 0.

7. Now move black slider to deepen the black shadows.

(This is Scott Kelby and Matt Kloskowski’s method of black & white photos)

 

Leave a Reply

