Everything good I learned from my mom

8 May

Mother’s day is on Sunday and to be honest I ALWAYS have a hard time picking something out for my mom. My mom isn’t picky or anything like that. In fact, I think if I made her a painted macaroni magnet, she would proudly display it on her fridge and comment about to every visitor about her creative daughter. You laugh, but I am so serious.
The reason that it is so hard is because she is better than some basket of body spray and lotions. I don’t want to give her nothing at all, because quite frankly, that’s not my style. I am still on the search and if anyone has any ideas please let me know in the comments.

While wandering the aisles like a lost sheep, i started thinking about all the things I love about my mom. This post is dedicated to her.

My mom is amazing because…

She loves the library and taught me how to love it too. The library was our magical place. She would take us weekly and then we would have a McDonald’s picnic in the park. When we got home, she would read to us for what felt like hours. We would all fall asleep with the books as our bed.

She makes friends with everyone from the grocer to the janitor. I think her trick is she sees the good in everyone right from the start.

She is extremely patient. This is one quality that I haven’t mastered. I do admire it in her though.

She loves to laugh.

She spends time with God every morning not because she has to but because she wants to. (4AM early!!!)

She gives second chances, and third chances and nineteenth chances.

She is my number one fan. When I first started blogging she was only reader for a month. I didn’t want to let her down so I kept blogging so that she would have something to read.

She taught me to “always put your lips” on before your significant other comes home. Basically, smell good and put lip gloss on before you walk in the door. Has always worked for me.

She has her priorities straight and she doesn’t waver. I overheard a conversation once in which she interviewed for a job and they asked her what her to list her priorities in order of importance. She replied “God, my family then my career.” I will never forget that.

Her home is a place of rest. My friends would come over to hang out with my mom. Yeah…she’s that cool.

She is the person I look up to the most. She is the first person I call when I have a question, and I don’t trust Google to give me the right answer. My mom is the best no doubt about that.


4 Responses to “Everything good I learned from my mom”

  1. Kristin May 8, 2012 at 9:06 am #

    My mom and I have gone for pedicures the last few years. I think she appreciates the time together, more than some tangible gift.

    • asnailslife May 10, 2012 at 7:34 am #

      I love that Kristen! My mom loves to get her nails done and she would be thrilled with the quality time.

  2. Candias May 8, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

    I think that was the best mother’s day gift ever….to know the things we do, say, and demonstrate make a difference in our kids lives is the best ever! Keep up the blogging, I find it very encouraging and uplifting!

    • asnailslife May 10, 2012 at 7:33 am #

      Your so right Candias. It is the small little every day stuff that sticks with kids the most.

Leave a Reply

